Log in

Event information

  • Home
  • How To Get Published and Be A Successful Investigator

How To Get Published and Be A Successful Investigator

  • 10 Mar 2022
  • 8:00 PM - 9:30 PM
  • Virtual

How To Get Published and Be A Successful Investigator 

Hosted by The Diseases of the Esophagus Journal 


Join us for a live virtual panel as Judy Trieu interviews Vani Konda, Daniela Molena, and Prateek Sharma on publishing your research and studies in the Diseases of the Esophagus Journal.  

This will be a practical forum for early-career investigators covering such questions as how to identify research questions, secure resources, and developing your methodology and analysis. We will also be covering manuscript writing and what you can do if your manuscript is rejected. 

Attendees will be invited to join breakout sessions at the end for Surgeons and Gastroenterologists to discuss additional questions and thoughts in smaller groups. 

This presentation will appeal to trainees, fellows and early career gastroenterologists, surgeons and scientists focused on esophageal diseases.

While the timing of this panel will be most convenient for individuals in North and South America, all are welcome to join. Similar panels will be planned for other regions in future.


DATE:  March 10, 2022 - 8:00 pm EST

  • Seattle / Vancouver 17:00 PST
  • Chicago / Mexico City 19:00 CST
  • New York / Toronto 20:00 EST
  • Rio de Janeiro / Santiago 22:00 BRT
  • New Delhi  +1 06:30 IST
  • Beijing  +1 09:00 CST
  • Tokyo  +1 10:00 JST
  • Sydney  +1 12:00 AEDT

Watch Recording


HOSTED BY:
Giovanni Zaninotto and Neil Gupta, Co-Editors-in-Chief, Diseases of the Esophagus Journal


INTERVIEWER:



Dr. Judy Trieu 

Gastroenterology and Hepatology Fellow 

Loyola University Medical Center 

 

Dr. Judy Trieu is a third year Gastroenterology and Hepatology fellow at Loyola University Medical Center and will be pursuing a 4th year Advanced Endoscopy Fellowship at the University of North Carolina. Her area of clinical interests include pancreaticobiliary diseases and advanced tissue resection. She is interested in research and education, with plans on pursuing a career in an academic setting. She is currently a Co-Editor in Chief of the ACG Case Reports Journal and an AGA Editorial Fellow for Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology. 


PANELISTS:




Professor Vani Konda 

Gastroenterologist 

Baylor University Medical Center, USA 

 

Vani J.A. Konda, MD is a gastroenterologist with clinical expertise in esophageal disorders, Barrett's esophagus, surveillance and advanced endoscopic imaging. Her clinical practice focuses on esophageal diseases including Barrett's esophagus, early esophageal cancer, achalasia, swallowing disorders, eosinophilic esophagitis, reflux, and complex esophageal strictures. She completed her residency and fellowship training and remained on faculty at University of Chicago in Chicago, Illinois. Since 2017, she has served as the Clinical Director at the Baylor Scott and White Center for Esophageal Diseases at Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas, Texas. Collaborating with other gastroenterologists, surgeons, and otolaryngologists, she has developed a clinical multidisciplinary program for complex benign and malignant disorders of the esophagus. She actively participates in a unique multidisciplinary, translational research program at the Baylor Scott and White Center for Esophageal Research. Her research interests have focused primarily on premalignant lesions of the gastrointestinal tract, in particular Barrett’s esophagus and advanced endoscopic imaging. She has authored over 100 articles, book chapters, and videos. She has been active in the International Society of Diseases of the Esophagus (ISDE) as the Web and Communications Committee Co-chair and in American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE) and the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG).




Professor Daniela Molena 

Director of the Esophageal Program 

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, USA 

 

Dr. Daniela Molena has served as the Director of the Esophageal Program within the Thoracic Surgery Division at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center since 2015. She strives to provide excellent and individualized care to patients, integrating new technology and novel approaches. 

  

She is an advocate for the use of minimally invasive techniques (VATS, laparoscopic or robotic) whenever possible to decrease pain and enhance patient’s recovery. 

  

Her research focuses in identifying and measuring quality indicators to improve clinical and functional outcomes after surgery, designing clinical pathways to decrease costs and improve results, and identifying racial and socioeconomic disparities that limit the access to excellent care. She is also interested in developing and studying new technologies and imaging guided approaches to direct surgical resection to be more precise, effective and less invasive. 

  

Dr. Molena has authored over 100 manuscripts and book chapters. She is vice-President of Women in Thoracic Surgery (WTS), Councilor of Southern Thoracic Surgical Association (STSA), Board Member of the Foundation of the American Association for Thoracic Surgery (AATS) and member of the Society of Thoracic Surgeons, SAGES, Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract and the International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus. She in Associate Editor for Diseases of the Esophagus, Deputy Editor of the Annals of Thoracic Surgery and Editorial Board Member of Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. 


 


Professor Prateek Sharma 

Gastroenterologist 

University of Kansas Medical Center, USA 

 

Professor Prateek Sharma completed his Internal Medicine Residency at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee and his Gastroenterology Fellowship at the University of Arizona in Tucson. Professor Sharma’s research has focused on upper gastrointestinal diseases including Barrett’s esophagus, esophageal cancer gastroesophageal reflux disease and evaluating novel imaging techniques for upper and lower gastrointestinal diseases. He has over 300 publications including original articles and book chapters related to these topics and has presented at major national and international meetings. Dr. Sharma has recently written an invited review article on Barrett’s esophagus in the New England Journal of Medicine. He recently co-edited a book entitled “Barrett’s Esophagus & Esophageal Adenocarcinoma.” 

  

Professor Sharma has had publications in high impact journal including the New England Journal of Medicine, Annals of Internal Medicine, Alimentary Pharmacology and Therapeutics, American Journal of Gastroenterology, Gastroenterology, Gastrointestinal Endoscopy and Gut. He serves as a reviewer for most of the major medicine and gastroenterology subspecialty journals. 

Affiliated Societies



International  Interdisciplinary  Everything Esophageal


The International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

General Inquiries: info@isde.net
Membership Questions: membership@isde.net

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software