Log in

Event information

  • Home
  • Leaks After Esophagectomy: Handling A Difficult Complication

Leaks After Esophagectomy: Handling A Difficult Complication

  • 22 Mar 2022
  • 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM (UTC)
  • Virtual


Leaks After Esophagectomy: Handling A Difficult Complication 

In collaboration with the Malaysian Upper GI Surgical Society

Join us for a virtual presentation on Leaks After Esophagectomy: Handling a difficult complication on March 22, 2022 at 12:00 GMT hosted in collaboration with the Malaysian Upper GI Surgical Society (MUGIS). During this 90 minute virtual presentation our international panel will present and discuss strategies for minimizing and managing leaks after esophagectomy.

DATE:  March 22, 2022 from 12:00 – 13:30 GMT

  • Chicago 07:00 CDT
  • New York 08:00 EDT
  • Rio de Janeiro 09:00 BRT
  • London 12:00 GMT
  • Amsterdam / Rome 13:00 CET
  • New Delhi 17:30 IST
  • Tokyo 21:00 JST
  • Sydney 23:00 AEDT


Watch Recording 


MODERATED BY:  


Professor Ramesh Gurunathan,
Consultant Upper Gastrointestinal and General Surgeon
Sunway Medical Center & CENGILD GI Medical Center, Malaysia

Dr Ramesh obtained his MBBS in 1993 and later his Masters in General Surgery from National University of Malaysia in 2000 and Fellowship from The Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland. He had his early training in Upper GI Surgery from Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute, India and in Malaysia. He received further training in Upper GI Surgery in Queen Alexandra Hospital, Portsmouth, England. He has various publications in local and international journals, and is actively involved in research activities. He has also published chapters entitled “Laparoscopic Surgery of the Upper GI Tract” , “Laparoscopic Staging for gastric Cancer” and is also a reviewer for The International Journal of Medicine and Medical Sciences and The Medical Journal of Malaysia.

Dr Ramesh is currently a Consultant Upper GI Surgeon in Sunway medical Center and Cengild GI Medical Center. He is the current Past President of The Malaysian Upper GI Surgical Society (MUGIS). He was also the chairman for Upper GI Surgery subspeciality committee in The National Specialist Registry. He is also currently the council member for the International Society for Digestive Surgery, Asia Pacific. And Vice President of The Upper GI Surgical Society of ASEAN. He was also a past council member of the College of Surgeons of Malaysia and the Past President of the Malaysian Society of Gastroenterology and Hepatology. He is also a member of the Education Committee of the International society of diseases of the Esophagus .His main interest is in esophagogastric cancers and its early detection . He is also an honorary lecturer of the Monash Medical faculty, Malaysia.


PRESENTATIONS BY:


Dr. Ian Wong
Clinical Assistant Professor, The University of Hong Kong

Dr. Ian Wong graduated from The University of Hong Kong in 2007 and attained his fellowship in general surgery from the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and the College of Surgeons of Hong Kong in 2014. Under the influence of his mentor Professor Simon Law at The University of Hong Kong, he has aspired to become a foregut surgeon. In 2015, he received further training from Dr. John Pandolfino and Dr. Nathaniel Soper of Northwestern University, Chicago, on functional esophageal and esophageal motility disorder; Dr. Marco Patti of University of Chicago on foregut surgery; and Professor Han-Kwang Yang of Seoul National University on gastric cancer management. He became Associate Consultant at Queen Mary Hospital in 2017. He is currently Clinical Assistant Professor in the Division of Esophageal and Upper Gastrointestinal Surgery, Department of Surgery, School of Clinical Medicine, The University of Hong Kong.

Dr. Wong specialises his research interest on esophageal and gastric cancer management; diagnosis and management of esophageal motility disorder and gastroesophageal reflux disease.

He is currently the member of the Guideline Committee of the International Society for Disease of the Esophagus (ISDE) and Education Committee of the Asian Pacific Society of Digestive Endoscopy (APSDE). He is also a member of various different local and international scientific societies including the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract (SSAT) and European Society for Diseases of the Esophagus (ESDE) and International Society for Disease of the Esophagus (ISDE).

Dr. Wong has been a seasoned contributor to high-impact international journals e.g. Annals of Surgery and Journal of Gastrointestinal Surgery. He is also a regular reviewer of international peer reviewed journals, e.g. the Diseases of the Esophagus. He is regularly invited to deliver lectures both locally and internationally.



Professor Hasan Batirel
Thoracic Surgeon and Esophagus Surgery, Turkey

Dr.Batirel is a graduate of Marmara University School of Medicine in 1994. He has completed his residency training in the same institution during 1994-1999. During his residency he took a research break in Columbia Presbytarian Medical Center, New York under the supervision of Dr.Mehmet Oz in 1997 for 6 months. After his residency he worked as a clinical fellow in Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston under the supervision of David J. Sugarbaker and Scott J. Swanson (1999-2021). He has become an associate professor in 2005 and full professor in 2020.

His main interests are minimally invasive esophageal and lung surgery and mesothelioma. They performed the first MI Ivor Lewis esophagectomy in Turkey in 2012. They also developed a uniportal VATS technique for MI Ivor Lewis esophagectomy during the last decade.

He is currently working in Memorial Hospitals group, Istanbul and his private office. He is involved in several educational activities with European Society of Thoracic Surgeons and national and international institutions.

He was the former Director of Education of European Society of Thoracic Surgeons and is currently the Secretary General of the same Society.


Affiliated Societies



International  Interdisciplinary  Everything Esophageal


The International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

General Inquiries: info@isde.net
Membership Questions: membership@isde.net

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software