Log in

Event information

  • Home
  • Evaluation and management of non-achalasia motility disorders: Medical and surgical approach

Evaluation and management of non-achalasia motility disorders: Medical and surgical approach

  • 11 Aug 2021
  • 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Online


Approach to management of achalasia has been streamlined, but management of non-achalasia motility disorders including opioid induced esophageal dysfunction has been challenging.

Join us for a live virtual presentation covering such topics as opioid induced esophageal dysfunction, non-achalasia spastic disorders (jackhammer, distal esophageal spasm), and hypomotility disorders (ineffective esophageal motility and esophageal aperistalsis).

If you are working in gastroenterology, surgery, nursing, research, or have an interest in diseases of the esophagus then this is the presentation for you.

Wednesday, August 11, 2021 from 15:00 – 16:00 GMT or:

Beijing 23:00 CST
New Delhi 20:30 IST
Moscow 18:00 MSK
Rome / Amsterdam 17:00 CEST
London 16:00 BST
New York / Toronto 11:00 EDT
Sao Paulo 12:00 BRT
Chicago 10:00 CDT
Seattle / Vancouver 08:00 PDT

Watch Recording

Open Flyer


Moderator




Michael Vaezi, Clinical Director, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, USA


Dr. Vaezi is currently a Professor of Medicine and Otolaryngology at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center in the Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition. He is the Associate Chief and Clinical Director of the Division and Director of Center for Swallowing and Esophageal Disorders and Director of Clinical Research. He is immediate past Chair of the EGD Section of the AGA and is currently Associate Editor for Gastroenterology and member of the AGA research Council.

Dr. Vaezi received a B.S. degree in Chemistry at Birmingham-Southern College in Birmingham, Alabama. He then went to the University of Alabama at Birmingham and received his Ph.D. in Bio-Organic Chemistry. From there, Dr. Vaezi went to the University of Alabama School of Medicine were he received his MD degree in 1992. He completed a four-year academic residency in internal medicine in program focused on clinical research at the University of Alabama Hospitals in Birmingham Alabama. Subsequently, he completed his fellowship in Gastroenterology at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation where he was elected as the Chief Fellow. He also received a Master’s in Epidemiology and Clinical Research from Case Western Reserve University.

Dr. Vaezi is an associate member of the American Gastroenterological Association, and a Fellow member of the American College of Gastroenterology.

Speakers





Dhyanesh (Dan) Patel
, Assistant Professor, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, USA


Dr. Patel is an esophageal specialist and an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the Center for Esophageal Disorders at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN, USA. He completed his internal medicine residency and gastroenterology fellowship at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center in 2018. His research has focused on improving diagnosis and management of esophageal diseases, specifically, GERD, extra-esophageal reflux, achalasia, and opioid induced esophageal dysfunction. He has numerous publications, including original articles and book chapters. He is the editor for textbook titled “Evaluation and Management of Dysphagia: An Evidence Based Approach,” and is also the editor for upcoming textbook evaluating impact of obesity on esophageal disorders. Dr. Patel has and continues to publish in several high-profile national and international journals, including Gastroenterology, Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, and American Journal of Gastroenterology. He serves on the AGA digestive disease week (DDW) committee on GERD: complications and extra-esophageal presentations, International foundation for Gastrointestinal Disorders (IFFGD) junior academicians program, and International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus (ISDE) communications committee.





Arjan Bredenoord, Professor, Amsterdam University Medical Center, The Netherlands


Albert J (Arjan) Bredenoord (1977), MD is Consultant Gastroenterologist at the Amsterdam University Medical Center and professor of Neurogastroenterology & Motility at the University of Amsterdam.

After his Medicine studies in Antwerp, Belgium he worked on several clinical research projects on GI motility at the University of Utrecht, the Netherlands resulting in a PhD thesis on gastroesophageal reflux disease in 2006. His clinical training was performed in Nieuwegein, the Netherlands and at the Royal London Hospital in London, UK. He currently works as a consultant Gastroenterologist at the Amsterdam University Medical Center where he is dedicated to patients care, scientific research and education in the field of benign esophageal diseases.

Dr Bredenoord’s main focus is on achalasia, reflux disease and eosinophilic esophagitis. He is one of the pioneers of high-resolution manometry and impedance monitoring of the esophagus. The esophageal clinic in the AMC Amsterdam hosts the largest population of benign esophageal diseases in the Netherlands. Dr Bredenoord is an author of over 250 papers, books and book chapters and organizes regular courses in Europe, North America and Asia. Dr Bredenoord is President of the European Society of Eosinophilic Esophagitis EUREOS, member of the UEG Scientific Committee and co-founder of the International HRM working group.

 

Affiliated Societies



International  Interdisciplinary  Everything Esophageal


The International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

General Inquiries: info@isde.net
Membership Questions: membership@isde.net

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software