Log in

Event information

  • Home
  • Functional Heartburn and Reflux Hypersensitivity – Commonly Encountered But Often Overlooked

Functional Heartburn and Reflux Hypersensitivity – Commonly Encountered But Often Overlooked

  • 27 Jul 2021
  • 7:00 AM - 8:00 AM
  • Online

Join us for a virtual presentation on functional heartburn and reflux hypersensitivity, commonly encountered but often overlooked. This presentation will shed light on the role of these disorders in refractory GERD and how to diagnose and manage them. This program will include a 30 minute presentation followed by a case.

Tuesday, July 27th at 11:00 GMT or:

Chicago 06:00 CDT
New York / Toronto 07:00 EDT
London 12:00 BST
Amsterdam 13:00 CEST
Moscow 14:00 MSK
New Delhi 16:30 IST
Beijing 19:00 CST
Tokyo 20:00 JST 

Watch The Recording
Open Flyer

Moderator



Bradley Kendall, Eminent Senior Staff Gastroenterologist, Princess Alexandra Hospital, Australia

Associate Professor Bradley Kendall is a clinical academic Gastroenterologist and Cancer Epidemiologist. He is currently an Eminent Senior Staff Gastroenterologist at the Princess Alexandra Hospital, Brisbane, Australia. His clinical training was undertaken in Australia and the United States of America. He was awarded a PhD in Cancer Epidemiology from the University of Queensland for his work on the role of obesity in Barrett's esophagus.

He is actively involved in ongoing research into the epidemiology of pre-malignant and malignant upper gastrointestinal diseases including Barrett's esophagus and esophageal adenocarcinoma via his clinical appointment and appointments as an Associate Professor in the Discipline of Medicine, School of Medicine at the University of Queensland, Australia and a Visiting affiliate at the QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute, Brisbane, Australia. He has published widely in international and national journals on Barrett's esophagus and esophageal adenocarcinoma.

He has been involved in international and national collaborations including involvement in the NCI supported International Barrett’s and esophageal adenocarcinoma Consortium (BEACON). He has been an active member of the Australian Progression of Barrett’s Esophagus to Cancer network (PROBE-NET), a multicentre national network that brings together clinicians and scientists to investigate better ways to prevent, detect and treat esophageal disease. He was part of the Cancer Council Australia working party that developed clinical guidelines for the management of Barrett's esophagus and early esophageal adenocarcinoma. In the working party he led the group that developed the current Australian guidelines for the endoscopic surveillance of Barrett's esophagus.


Speakers




Ronnie Fass, Medical Director, Digestive Health Center, USA

Ronnie Fass, MD, is the Medical Director of the Digestive Health Center, Chairman of the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, and head of the Esophageal and Swallowing Program at the MetroHealth Medical Center, Cleveland Ohio. He is also a tenured professor of medicine at Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Fass did his internship and residency in internal medicine at the University of Arizona Health Sciences Center, where he later became a Chief Resident. He then completed a fellowship in gastroenterology at the University of California in Los Angeles where he focused on GI motility and functional bowel disorders.

Dr. Fass has served in leadership positions in many societies. He is the former treasurer of the American Neurogastroenterology and Motility Society as well as the chair of the education committee. The former member of the Nominating Committees of the Upper GI Section and Neurogastroenterology and Motility of the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA). He has served as the chair of the Functional Esophageal Disorders committee for Rome IV, Membership committee of the American Neurogastroenterology and Motility Society, Practice Parameter Committee and Audio Committee of the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) and the Publication Committee of the American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE). He has also served as a member of the management committee of the journal Neurogastroenterology and Motility. Currently Dr. Fass serves as a member of the World Gastroenterology Organization (WGO) Guidelines and Publications committee, member of the ACG Digital communications and publications committee, member of The American Forgut Society (AFS) annual meeting planning committee and research committee, member of the International Society of Diseases of the esophagus (ISDE), education committee and the ACG GI on demand task force steering committee. In addition, Dr. Fass has served on the ANMS/EMS consensus group for Refractory GERD, as a core team member of Chicago Classification 4.0, The EndoFlip experts panel working group and he is the representative of the AFS on the multi-society guidelines for endoscopy credentialing. Moreover, Dr. Fass has served as a member of many committees in different GI societies.

Dr. Fass is the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Clinical Gastroenterology and he is the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Neurogastroenterology and Motility. Dr. Fass is a frequent lecturer and presenter and is a reviewer for more than 70 journals. He is and has served on the editorial board of 27 journals.

Dr. Fass is the recipient of the American Gastroenterological Association Award for Digestive Sciences in Clinical Research, the Southern Arizona VA Health Care System Investigator of the Year Award, and the International Foundation of Functional Gastrointestinal Disorders Senior Clinical Investigator Award. He has received the University of Arizona Dean’s Research Award, the Glaxo Institute of Digestive Health Clinical Research Award twice, the American College of Gastroenterology Research Award three times, the American Medical Association Resident-Mentor Award twice, and the American Journal of Gastroenterology Outstanding Reviewer Award. Dr. Fass has been selected as one of the Best Doctors in Arizona between 2004 and 2011, Best Doctor in Northern Ohio between 2012 and 2016, Castle Connolly Top Doctor from 2015-2021 and America’s Top Doctor in 2021. Dr. Fass was named World’s Leading Expert in the research and treatment of GERD (press release 11/2013) and World’s expert in esophageal motility disorders (Press release 7/2019) by Expertscape.com.

Dr. Fass has published more than 450 articles, editorials and commentaries in journals such as Gastroenterology, Gut, American Family Physician, American Journal of Gastroenterology and Archives of Internal Medicine. He has published three books and has written 62 book chapters, including 2 chapters in UpToDate.





Joan Chen, Assistant Professor, University of Michigan, USA

Dr. Joan Chen is an esophageal specialist and an Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Michigan. Dr. Chen came to Michigan in 2013 after completion of her general GI and advanced esophageal fellowships, as well as a Master’s degree in Clinical Investigation at Northwestern University. She is the Director of the Esophageal Motility Program and a primary faculty member for the Neurogastrointestinal Motility visiting fellowship program and the Advanced Esophageal Fellowship at Michigan Medicine. Dr. Chen has a robust clinical practice managing patients with all forms of esophageal disorders. From research standpoint, Dr. Chen is an active contributor to areas of refractory gastroesophageal reflux disease, esophageal motility disorders, and therapeutic options in eosinophilic esophagitis.

Affiliated Societies



International  Interdisciplinary  Everything Esophageal


The International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

General Inquiries: info@isde.net
Membership Questions: membership@isde.net

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software